Candidates in Stratford district elections

CONSERVATIVES will be hoping the recent fuel panic and ‘pasty tax’ don’t lose them support when voters in Stratford district go to the polls on May 3.

But their Westminster coalition partners and principal local opposition the Liberal Democrats may also be hoping the damage is limited as 19 of Stratford District Council’s 53 seats are contested.

Greens and Independents are also standing, ensuring that Labour are not the only alternative in the authority, which Conservatives control with 34 councillors.

In Burton Dassett, Conservative Simon Jackson will face challenges from Liberal Democrat Wendy Handy and Labour candidate Janice Sewell, while John Horner (Con) will be hoping to hold his Claverdon ward against Megan Dyer (Lib Dem) and Philip Heath (Lab).

In Harbury, sitting councillor and former Liberal Democrat Bev Mann will be contesting Harbury as an Independent against Conservative James Parker.

In wards with all-new candidates, Kineton will be contested by Jacqueline Abbott (Lab), Rob Ballantyne (Green) and Alan Scorer (Con),

In Tory-held Southam, Andrew Crump (Con) and Peter Hedges (Lib Dem) will take on Carol Pratt (Lab). And in Wellesbourne Christopher Aston (Lab), Roger Fisher (Green), David Johnston (Lib Dem) and Ryan Podmore (Con) contest the seat.

Polling hours are 7am to 10pm.

Related topics: