Champions Leamington bow out of Division Two with a whimper

It was a case of after the Lord Mayor’s Show for Leamington’s first string as they surrendered their unbeaten record in the 22nd and final match of a successful Birmingham League campaign.
Lee HopkinsLee Hopkins
Lee Hopkins

Defeat by a pumped-up Attock side ensured the visitors achieved promotion to Division One alongside champions Leamington.

Frequent wickets were interspersed with a multitude of boundaries as Leamington’s score mounted, but batsmen found ways to get out.

Max Webber made a lively 32 on his last appearance before his return to Sydney and Simon Magill stroked 30 elegant runs before holing out to deep cover.

Lee Hopkins and Grant Thornton carried on their recent good form but neither could play a match-defining innings.

Hopkins made 47 before lobbing up a catch to cover and Thornton was bowled by a well-disguised slower ball for 34 by Sultan Mahmood, one of three wickets for the crafty spinner.

Ajab Khan also took three, albeit expensive, wickets as Leamington were bowled out for a below-par 192 with more than seven overs unused.

Attock proceeded to attack the modest total with relish and although Webber and Will Field each claimed a victim, Mohammed Khan (88 not out) and Asim Khan (52 not out) added an unbeaten 120 to see Attock to victory with plenty to spare.

Leamington 2nd XI’s disappointing season closed with another sub-standard performance against Attock.

A weakened Spa side did show some spark with the bat as they compiled a reasonable 211 for five in 50 overs.

Joe Somra made a patient 33 and middle-order impetus was supplied by Billy Hallett (45), Dave Hawkes (41) and Jason Butler with 38.

Leamington’s threadbare attack were unable to restrict Attock’s scoring sufficiently and although Wayne Killian took three for 51 and Jim Gethins two for 43, Attock cantered to a five-wicket win with 13 overs in hand.