Undefeated Heydon and Singleton prove a knockout combination

Nigel Heydon and Rob Singleton led Holly Bush A to a shock Knockout Cup win over Woodloes Tavern as the curtain came down on the Cubbington OAP Summer Darts League on Monday night.

Holly Bush had twice lost to Woodloes in the regular season, but wins for Heydon in the singles, doubles and triples, the latter alongside Sid Goode and Singleton and a singles win for Singleton left the score tied at 4-4 going into the deciding doubles.

Woodloes’ Chris Foster and Ollie Guinane were first to get scoring after hitting their double to start, with Ash Brankin and Singleton left way back.

Sign up to our daily WarwickshireWorld Today newsletter

However, Guinane and Foster had acute double trouble, missing more than 20 attempts to clinch the match and they were made to pay when Singleton showed them how it was done to claim an unlikely victory for Holly Bush.

The knockout Plate Final was a more one-sided affair with Queen’s Head A claiming a 5-2 win over Hope & Anchor B.

Roger Heydon put Hope into an early lead with a singles victory over Paul Bolt, but wins for Steve White and Rob Lea, over Keith Cyphus and John Hampton, respectively, and a triples win for Trevor Sutton, Chris Jennins and Lea put Queen’s Head in control.

Des Cowley stopped the rot with a 2-0 win over Steve Bradley, which included a maximum, but further singles victories for Sutton and Jennings clinched the trophy for Queen’s Head.

2012 trophy winners

A Division: Winners: Holly Bush B. Runners-up: Woodloes Tavern.

B Division: Winners: Whitnash Tavern. Runners-up: Whitnash Club.

C Division: Winners: Queens Head B. Runners-up: Priors Club.

D Division: Winners: Windmill Inn. Runners-up: Woodland Tavern.

Knockout Cup: Winners: Holly Bush A. Runners-up: Woodloes Tavern.

Knockout Shield: Winners: Queen’s Head A. Runners-up: Hope & Anchor B.

Highest checkout: A Division: 170 J Atkins & A Thompson (both Holly Bush B). B Division: 155 I Carden (Willoughby). C Division: 150 D.Kandola (Priors Club). D Division: 151 M Eades (Woodland Tavern).

Averages: A Division: A Hodges (Holly Bush B). B Division: S Smith (Whitnash Tavern). C Division: S Poland (Queens Head B). D Division: M Crosdell (Woodland Tavern).

Highest Collections: A Division: Bishops Tachbrook Club. B Division: Hodcarrier. C Division: Liberal Club B. D Division: Talbot Inn (best in all divisions).